Qualifications in Wales

Qualifications in Wales provides details on each qualification

Qualification Level

Levels indicate the difficulty and complexity of the knowledge and skills associated with any qualification. There are eight level supported by three entry levels.

Qualification Size

Size refers to the estimated total amount of time it could typically take to study and be assessed for a qualification. This could be anything from a matter of hours to a number of years of study and different learners could take a variation of time to study for the same qualification. Size is expressed in terms of Total Qualification Time (TQT). The part of that time typically being spent taught or supervised, rather than studying alone, is known as Guided Learning Hours.

Qualifications can sit at different levels, but require similar amounts of study as assessment time. Equally, qualifications at the same level can take different amounts of study and assessment time.

For further information on qualifications in Wales please visit: https://www.qiw.wales or call FutureQuals on

01530 836662

Our advisers are available to take your call Monday to Friday 9am to 5pm UK Time Excluding weekends Bank Holidays.

Important Information

Learner Registration and Certification claims

All learner registrations and certification claims for qualifications must be made online via the Qualifications Management Information System (QMIS).

Downloads: QMIS User Form | User Agreement

Become an Approved Centre

Deliver valuable qualifications to learners

Want to offer a qualification?

Then visit the Centre Information page


The HUB is the online service for use by organisations working with the Skills Funding Agency (SFA).

Browse our range of qualifications below:

Each qualification page contains a facts box and quick links to further information regarding components and funding.